Cutting 'large' stock

Wheat.Millington

Registered
Registered
I'm a beginner machinist and I've been scavenging for cheap or free round stock everywhere I can, and have scored quite a bit including some bigger (by my standards) pieces - for example some 50mm stainless and some 75mm machining steel. I have no simple way to cut this stock. At the moment I'm spending more time than I'd like behind a hacksaw. It seems unreasoanble to cut such large amounts with a grinder, like I'm probably going to cost myself a lot of money in cut off discs. I might try my reciprocating saw but not sure how long a blade will last on big steel pieces?

So before I go out and invest in some cutting machinery, does anyone have any advice? I stupidly passed up the chance to buy a horizontal band saw cheaply at a recent auction, ugh.

An abrasive saw is cheap, miserable and messy but it beats a hacksaws. I used one for years before I brought a Wellsaw bandsaw.

A decent horizontal band saw is a BIG step up from an abrasive saw and can usually be tuned to make pretty accurate cuts.

A dry saw (spins at about 1500 rpm and uses a circular carbide blade to cut steel) is another nice saw and a pretty good alternative to a band saw for most cuts. A band saw will usually handle bigger stock than a dry saw. I have a mitering dry saw which is great for good mitered joints on tubing, but I usually use the band saw on solid stock.

A cold saw (spins a large HSS blade at couple hundred rpm and is usually used with coolant) is nice, expensive and usually keeps a really accurate angle.

A sawzall blade never lasted very long for me but I am impatient and probably always applied too much force.

Sometimes old automatic hacksaws come along for good prices which is also a respectable option.

Last edited: