No fun turning a 22mm deep socket

Gaffer

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I had an HUA moment, all too frequently lately, and posted this on top of woodfab's bandsaw posting.

I received the 3" wheel spacers for my Kubota. Excited, I grabbed my tools and spacers and drove 1.5 hours to our lot in Oceanside where the tractor resides and we prepare to build our retirement home.

Wheel Spacer.jpg
I should have checked my 22mm socket in the spacer first, but never thought it wouldn't fit. It didn't. It wasn't an entirely wasted trip, but I learned a valuable lesson. When I returned home, I ordered the thinnest walled 22mm deep socket I could find. It showed up on my doorstep this morning, but the OD was too big to fit.

Keep in mind, I'm a novice at machining, but had prepared myself that I might have to turn the socket to fit. I used this carbide tool on my Colchester Master 6.5. There's a picture of the business end of the tool in the next photo. I tested it on some scrap before taking it to the socket and it performed fine.
Carbide Tool.jpg

I chucked up the socket and found it to be disappointing and the finished product is embarrassing. It fits and hopefully won't break when I torque the spacers to spec. I think I'll be fine. I've read posts before about members turning chrome tools and it was difficult, but I don't remember what was discussed to make it better. My lathe's max RPM is 1,000 and that's what I used, and fed by hand. Lots of heat and a rats nest. I played with DOC between .005 and .010, and it didn't seem to make much difference though I experienced deflection at the unsupported end. I made several passes and tried a .002 finish pass. It fits fine with the slightest, I'm guessing a thou or two of clearance, that I hope will be enough to fit onto the lug nuts.
Rat Nest.jpg