Newbie here, Project advice needed.

PeteW

Registered
Registered
Hey there, I'm new to this forum and I'm new to any type of metal milling work. I have no milling experience, but I do have access to milling equipment at a maker space in my area. I want to make some copper busbars to connect cells for a lithium battery I'm building. I'm using 1/8" x 3/4" x 36", 110 Copper bar stock. I plan to cut the bar stock into 3-1/2" and 4-1/2" lengths for the busbars. Then I want to add 1/4" x 3/8" slotted holes centered near the each end of the busbars to fit over the 6mm cell terminals and still allow some expansion room so as not to stress the terminals. Is a 1/4" 3 fluted square end mill the right choice for this? What is the best way to cut my bar stock into equal sizes using a band saw? I'm thinking band saw for a thinner blade kerf, than my table saw or my miter saw. This is important to me because, if I'm correct, it will allow me to get (10) instead of (9) 3-1/2" busbars from a 36" bar stock.

For cutting, if your maker space has a horizontal bandsaw that will work well. You can clamp stuff in a horizontal bandsaw for cutting. Copper has a tendency to grab/stick to drills, saw blades, etc, to be sure to clamp in and do not try to hold it by hand while using power tools on it.

I second Rabler, copper is one of the "tenacious" metals and can grab tools if you are not careful. Drill holes to finish size in one pass, no pilot hole.
Also be careful milling it, be sure it's clamped down securely and protect yourself in case it comes out of the vise. I'd use a 4-flute endmill.
Be careful around lithium batteries too, they have a large energy density and can do a lot of damage if shorted or overheated.
-Mark

... and welcome to the forum!

Don’t forget hand tools. It can all be done by hand. For the slots, drill and finish with a file. It would take longer, but if access to machines is limited there is always a work around.