New to me 1929 wide (heavy?) 9" long bed and overhead silent drive casting trade

mattthemuppet2

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
hi all,

I came across this SB wide 9 project a while ago while helping a "new to lathe work" guy set up his Clausing and last week he offered it to me for what he had in it as he has to move.

Plus sides are it was a price I could afford (more or less) at $400, everything had been cleaned, it was a 55" bed and it will be a far more capable lathe than the unmentionable (begins with At and ends with 618) I've been using for the last 5 years or so.

Down sides are that everything has been cleaned but not reassembled, it has some wear near the headstock (enough to catch a nail, haven't measured it yet), it came only with a 3 jaw chuck (no outside jaws) and no drive system. It originally shipped with an overhead silent chain drive, but I only have the main casting and nothing else (no plate or countershaft). I'll be making my own horizontal drive using some pillow block bearings, 1/2" alu plate and some poly-v pulleys.

Here's the bed
img_9777.jpg

Single tumbler gear box
img_9778.jpg

Apron
img_9779.jpg

Carriage, compound and a weird threaded but undrilled/ slotted face plate
img_9780.jpg

Headstock and tailstock
img_9781.jpg

Cushman chuck and carriage handwheel
img_9782.jpg

and the overhead drive casting
img_9783.jpg
img_9784.jpg
img_9785.jpg

I won't be able to start putting it back together in earnest until I've finished my current project (mountainbike fork damper rebuild) as I need to get the space back in my garage and free up my current lathe.

In the meantime - what to do with the overhead drive casting? Personally I'd prefer to trade it for stuff that I need (steady rest, 4 jaw chuck, 3 jaw chuck w/outside jaws, in that order) but would it be better to put it up on eBay and then use that money to buy what I need?

Oh, serial number is 42149, which puts it as a 1929 or 1930 build.