Is there anyway to fix this razor top?

WobblyHand

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I've been using this Merkur razor Model 180 since 2011. This morning, when unthreading the handle to replace the razor blade, the stud sheared off the top cap of the razor rendering it inoperable. Is there anyway to save it? I think the piece is die cast zinc which is chrome plated. Not sure how the stud was originally attached. Can't tell if it was just a pressed fit or epoxy. Perhaps someone can tell from the pictures. The stud is M5 and about 10mm long. Epoxy the screw back on? It is curious to me the head is slotted.
PXL_20221016_115817754.jpgPXL_20221016_115832281.jpgPXL_20221016_115848834.jpg
It turns out Merkur sells replacement parts. But I didn't see my model listed on their site. I did send them a message and showed pictures. Hopefully they will respond. Their website doesn't make me feel warm and fuzzy, since they seem to be out of stock on most of their product line.

Pretty sure carving out a replacement cap in stainless steel would be a non-trivial undertaking. However, for the last 15 minutes I have been thinking about it... Guess one could press fit the guide pins in, as they are not heavily loaded. Maybe one could braze the stud to the cap. Properly brazed, that stud would never pull out. Could then use the stud to hold down the part onto a special mandrel. Then could somehow machine the cylindrical surface. I measured the chord to be about 19mm long and 3mm high, which gives a radius of 16.5mm. That is roughly 1.25" stock. So I could use 1.25" stock to make the mandrel. The stainless would only need to be a piece 0.5" x 1" x 1.6". Reading about stainless suggests one needs L, for low carbon, if one is brazing.

I had the same thing happen to my Merkur about 6 years ago.

I decided to solder it back together.

:grin: don't!