Hobby Machine Shop Advice

D7Pyro

Registered
Registered
Hi All,

I'm able to inherit my late grandfather's hobby machine shop. He was a toolmaker by trade and collected alot of cool stuff over the years. During his retirement he built 2 steam locomotives and several other smaller projects.

Although I'll need to condense in places, I think I should be able to take on the machines and some of the key tooling. I have invested in a shed for use as storage freeing up the garage to be a workshop (5.5m x 2.5m).

Would anyone mind taking a look over my proposed layout and offer any thoughts? I've had to guesstimate the size of the surface grinder, bandsaw and pillar drill currently, but based on similar items I can find measurements of, hoping not too far off.

Also, before I transport the tooling is there anything worth noting that could make anything scrap or not worth bringing with me to my workshop? Everything has been in situ unused for in excess of 5 years.

Thanks in advance, Mike

Attachments

• Workshop Layout_2.jpg
    Workshop Layout_2.jpg
    162.8 KB · Views: 166
  • 20221106_122203.jpg
    20221106_122203.jpg
    480.1 KB · Views: 162
  • received_1109472303516317.jpeg
    received_1109472303516317.jpeg
    243.6 KB · Views: 145
  • 20221106_122252.jpg
    20221106_122252.jpg
    218.8 KB · Views: 137
  • Messenger_creation_871606c1-9382-4c3a-8e49-54f79c2d599f.jpeg
    Messenger_creation_871606c1-9382-4c3a-8e49-54f79c2d599f.jpeg
    170.5 KB · Views: 133
  • Messenger_creation_66cc4d25-74d4-4209-a9ae-6a4529c38e65.jpeg
    Messenger_creation_66cc4d25-74d4-4209-a9ae-6a4529c38e65.jpeg
    132.8 KB · Views: 158