Why are my slots stupid?

Threadkiller

Registered
Registered
Hi all,
Little background. I'm new to machining, milling in particular. Every time I try to make a slot it always ends up oversized. I just made a set of brackets for a friend and the original size was supposed to be a 7/16" slot. I drilled a hole at the beginning and ending of the slot hoping that would make it better. Nope, the slot still ended up oversized. My 7/16" end mill was quite dull which I'm sure didn't help, but its not the sole reason. In the pics I actually went back in with a smaller sharper end mill to clean it up because it looked terrible so now they're even more oversized. My setup is a Bridgeport J head I was probably running 500rpm with a dull 4 flute HSS cutter. I also had a coolant mister spraying the end mill.

Attachments

• brackets.jpg
    brackets.jpg
    498.1 KB · Views: 62
Trying to cut a slot to width with an endmill of that width will always come out oversized. Drill your end holes, then finish the slot with something smaller - e.g. 3/8". Also, clamping can be tricky. Make sure you're not applying force that would want to push the slot closed as it's being formed. I suspect, in your case, it's the former.

GsT

How much oversize are they? Are you running the end mill in an end mill holder or a collet? Have you checked to see how much runout you have on the end mill?

A dull endmill will cause an oversize slot...

You should expect the slot to be oversized by two times the runout on the end mill, also.

To machine an accurate 7/16" slot, I would use a 3/8" end mill... make a cut right down the center, measure the width, then step over and cut both sides 1/2 the difference between what it measures and 7/16".

-Bear