Threading Question.

Fldvr

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi everyone, I've done a little threading on non critical parts using the cross slide. Now
that I'm ready to move on to the compound I find myself wondering about the depth of cut.
When using the cross slide and I wanted to make a thread with say a depth of .100 then I would
gradually move the cross slide in until I had a total of .100

Now my question is, when using the compound there must be some difference in the depth of
cut due to the angle/movement of the slide. Is there a correction factor that seems to be eluding me
here? I have read and looked on you tube but do not see any references.

The movement is the sine of whatever angle you have the compound set. At 30 degrees (assuming it is exactly 30 degrees) the movement is 0.5 for every compound increment. For all practical purposes, assume the .5 movement. I am a total newbie myself, and I experiment with different ways to get the job done. On threading I stick a dial indicator on the tool post with the mag base on the saddle, square it and level it and I just use it to measure the cut since I normally use the cross slide for the last couple of thou.

I may be out of my league here, the pros can chime in and correct me please.

Professionally, I've never concerned myself with Depth of Cut while threading, other than individual cuts. There are thread mikes or PD Thread wires to tell you when you're deep enough. Anything else is guesswork.

I always use the compound for increment the cut, the cross slide is for backing out at the end and returning to datum before starting the next pass

My thread specification software shows the compound infeed amount.
Beyond that , in my very unprofessional guesswork :) is to use the nut I am going to use to check fit when it gets close.

Just being practical TB, you are of course correct in all that you say but most hobby machinist do not have thread mikes or thread wires.

Ken