The South Bend heavy 9 Rebuild

Rick_B

Active User
H-M Platinum Supporter
Hi folks - I'm a new guy so a brief introduction first. My full name is Rick Bruner and I reside in upstate NY (Syracuse area). I have been a woodworker for quite awhile (note that longevity doesn't necessarily equate to skill and over the last few years have been drawn in to the restoration/rebuilding of old WW equipment. 45 years ago i took a shop class that was required in my associate degree program - that involved running a lathe. That was the last time I did nay metal working to speak of - but I have always felt an attraction to the field. In anticipation of my recent retirement I bought and sold a number of small metal lathes (a no name, several atlas lathes, etc) - the more reading I did the more I realized I wanted a South Bend. One came up for sale last spring for a reasonable price and I jumped on it. I sold all of the other lathes I had been accumulating to focus on the SB. I recently started the rebuild process and thought I would document it here as well as several other forums - my strategy is to get as much exposure as possible because I know I will have a ton of questions.