South Bend 9... newbie... help!

MikeManz

Registered
Registered
Im a new member and was giving a south bend 9 in trade for some things..
anyways it had a 1/3 hp motor that worked for like two days then it crapped out.. when it ran for a few days..
it seemed very weak and I had to get the chuck started with my hand to give it momentum.. I just put a 3/4 hp motor in it
and now it cooks!!! but I dont know how to get it to a lower speed..?
I know how to run a normal lathe...meaning a modern one.. but there are obviously some nuances that i havent figured out yet..
I cant seem to find a manual for it.. online.. Unless I buy one.. and I just spent $200 on a motor.. and $200 on a new tool post..
$30-$50 more for a manual is not gonna happen.. Im a machining student and I can't get enough of making things and working on manual machines.
so Im quite happy to have this baby.. I just want to get her running correctly so I can continue projects at home that I can't do at school..
obviously I am limited by size.. but i still have a lathe... and that is nice..
can anyone help me with changing speeds? do I need to change gears ? I know how to move the belt over . I know how to move the chuck to
make the head stock handle thing move to the thread setting I want to cut..
I'll say this before the 3/4 hp motor was installed I could only cut threads 32tpi - when I went to the other ones the lead screw would not turn
and I thought maybe since the lathe seemed underpowered that it might be why? Im sure you guys are reading this going "he's way off"
if I am please let me know.. thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me..
Not sure how to make pics thumbnails..? but I have several pics of the lathe..

IMG_0064_zps55d2971a.jpg

Mike,