South Bend 10k Clean Up

Danshell

Registered
Registered
First of all this is my first post and my first lathe. I have never turned a piece of steel in my life.....yet, so I am a total newbie and have a massive learning curve ahead of me.

I just bought a South Bend Lathe but I know zero about it. I was hoping I could get some help dating and Identifying it.
I believe I have purchase a Heavy 10 that comes with a gear box and extra gears that will allow me to cut metric threads.

So my only questions at this stage are.......

Is it a Heavy 10?
Is it dated in the 40's?
Do those gears and spare gear box appear to be what I need to cut metric threads?
Where can I buy Chucks for this lathe? (I am in Australia but dont mind shipping from the US)
If I am searching for chucks what is the large thread size and/or what is the bolt pattern on the chuck holder? (I have several that came with the machine none of them match the bolt pattern)
And finally, it has no motor. My initial research suggests I should buy a 1hp 3phase and use a VFD to run it from my 240v single phase power. If so I gather that would make the step up pulley system redundant, so I would just leave the pulley in the middle for example?
Or should I just buy a 240v single phase motor and continue to use the step up pulley system to change the speed? If so what size pulley should I put on a 1400RPM motor?

Thanks for any help and apologies if these are really stupid questions. I am starting to research my backside off to learn as much as I can.

DannyIMG_4387.jpgIMG_4386.jpgIMG_4385.jpgIMG_4384.jpgIMG_4383.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome,
You are on a journey of discover. You will get lots of hep, stay tuned.
Do you know anyone in your community that could stop by and help you get started?
Lathes are wonderful machines and they can be very dangerous too.
Youtube, Mr. Pete, has over 1,000 videos. Many on a South Bend.