[How do I?] Repair A Table-saw Mitre Gauge......

brino

Confirmed Tool User
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi Guys,

I think I know the answer, but was looking for ideas.

My mitre gauge fell off the table saw, hit the concrete and broke. It is an aluminum casting.
It is a clean break.....

gauge1.jpg gauge2.jpg gauge3.jpg

gauge4.jpg

As shown above, it is relatively thin with some "webs" underneath.

I briefly thought about jb-weld, but I think the proper way is TIG.
The problem is that I'm not very good with TIG yet.

I know the key is practice, practice, practice......

Any hints on how you would approach it?

Would you simply grind the paint back?
I've have TIG success on steel with 1 amp per thou. thickness; does the same rule-of-thumb apply to Al?
Should I bolt or clamp it down before welding to prevent distortion?
Should I do the welds from the backside only to maintain aesthetics?
Suggestions on current, tungsten size and filler rod?

Any other tricks/advise?

Thanks!
-brino

Make sure it's not bent first of all. I would remove all paint from the break, grind a small V on the split, then with a sharp tungsten on low amperage using small diameter aluminum filler rod try and fill the gap.

However it's probably not aluminum, most likely a zinc/aluminum mix. I would look for another, the old Craftsman atlas ones are very nice.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Cra...r-Table-Saw-/331630675474?hash=item4d36ba8612

My personal solution would be to dump that thing and buy an Incra miter gauge. They are vastly superior to these old gauges and you will not regret it. However, if you are hopelessly attached to this dinosaur-type thing I have an old one off my Craftsman saw that I can send to you.

Brino, Personally, I would purchase a new one. Shop Fox makes a nice miter gauge and it's a good excuse to buy one.