Painting equipment or tools

Charles scozzari

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Just wondering if anyone else feels this way. Iv'e always been a fanatic with my tools and machines. To the point were I almost hated getting them dirty. So now when I make something I leave it in unpainted so it doesn't got scratched or nicked and occasionally wipe it down with WD40 to control rust. One less thing to worry about. Anyone feel this way?.

Last edited:
I am not quite to that level but have a problem with shop humidity in Texas. The next thing I know there rust starting. I am looking for something that lasts longer than Wd-40. WD works for awhile but eventually it loses its protection. I have something else, can’t remember right now, I bought but the smell is really bad and paper doesn’t work cause I want to see it.

what would you be painting? I am just learning machining but know a lot about painting metal from auto body work.

I am not quite to that level but have a problem with shop humidity in Texas. The next thing I know there rust starting. I am looking for something that lasts longer than Wd-40. WD works for awhile but eventually it loses its protection. I have something else, can’t remember right now, I bought but the smell is really bad and paper doesn’t work cause I want to see it.

what would you be painting? I am just learning machining but know a lot about painting metal from auto body work.
Basically machine stands.I do have to repeat WD40ing things down but not all that often. Luckily my shop is dry. Thanks for the reply.

I admit to hating to clean spray guns…to the extent that I now buy the cheapest HF gun and trash it after. I know, it’s wretched excess.
THAT is a great idea for bigger stuff that stays outside. Thanks for that one.