My business just got wings

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
After a year of retirement, I decided it was time to look into starting a business.
Heck, I’m retired, I have time and I’m getting bored.
My wife helped me to set up a Facebook business page. She made up flyers and ordered business cards.
In other words, the lights are on, the door is open and I’m just waiting for the business to just start rolling in.
I went out this morning with one thing in mind, find a customer.
I did. An equipment rental place near me was my first stop. I went in and said, I’m retired, I’m bored, I’m a hobby machinist looking to help you out.
All of a sudden the questions started flying. Can you do this?, do you have a surface grinder?
I think I have some work coming my way.

They send out their tooling that needs to be sharpened. The carbide cutters go in a stump grinder. I was told, if you can sharpen these every rental place in three counties will be calling you.
The jack hammer tool needs to be reground, then heat treated.

I have some fixturing to do but I know I can perform what is required.

Sorry for the long thread. I’m pretty jazzed!

I’m on my way :)

Attachments

• 48C7A52B-6D17-43A3-B2E3-AD5C241A9ECC.jpeg
    48C7A52B-6D17-43A3-B2E3-AD5C241A9ECC.jpeg
    366.3 KB · Views: 130
  • 0FB27280-7557-4179-A94C-93F72A912DFD.jpeg
    0FB27280-7557-4179-A94C-93F72A912DFD.jpeg
    195.9 KB · Views: 127
  • A2AF6248-8E95-43AF-A99A-659A7C6133FB.jpeg
    A2AF6248-8E95-43AF-A99A-659A7C6133FB.jpeg
    306.3 KB · Views: 130
The rental place was a good idea. Seems like some nice work for you. It’s not clear to me why the jack hammer bit would need heat treating, unless you grind so much back that you get into the unhardened part.

My ex used to sharpen jack hammer moil points be heating in the forge and drawing a fresh point with thew trip hammer. After the point was properly shaped, it was hardened and tempered.