Mini Mills-HF or Grizzly or ?

FWest

Active User
Registered
I'm new to machining(less than 1 year). I have an older Logan lathe and want a starter Mill. I have read a lot about the hit or miss quality on the X2. Also the spindle taper-MT3 vs R8.

I do not have the space/need/$ for a full size knee mill. Would like to be movable by 2 guys or less.

Is the HF mini the best bang for the $ ?

Is the Grizzly worth the extra $ ?

Would I loose much capability if I went with a Taig ?

Anyone in the NE US want to pass on a small mill ?

I have been checking craigslist often but nothing so far.

Any tips or leads would be appreciated. Thanks, FWest

:think1:i did quite a bit of research before purchasing my mini mill. in addition i was in the machinist field for over 30 years before my retirement. if you are purchasing a "mini" mill you need to remember that they all come off of the same assembly line. the basic machine is going to be the same. the difference will be the individual changes made to meet the vendors specs. such as the spindle bore on the HF is R-8 and on the Grizzly it is MT3. when assembled they take the spindle for one from one pile and for the other from another pile. that is why when i bought mine i chose the HF. Cheaper and I personally like the R-8 better, much more tooling and specialty stuff available. you can find HF coupons on line for 25% off regularly. that makes it very reasonable. mods to the mill are easy and fairly cheap.

Just my $0.02 worth on the matter. should you want more info or need help with any of the mods, DRO, Air spring balance, Spindle reverse, drop me a note or call me. :allgood:

Also consider is the Little Machine Shop or MicroMark versions. The brushless motor with more power is not a bad thing and the Non-tilting column is worth considering. They have the larger bed as well.