Looking for beginner's Mill

Tulsot

Registered
Registered
I am a hobbyist. I've had a Grizzly G0602 10x22 lathe for about a year now, now previous lathe or mill experience. I am looking to add a mill. I am considering something like an Enco/RF30 or a Harbor Freight 40939.

Having said that, I would like to keep my purchase price more in the $800-$1500 range to be better able to purchase the necessary accessories.

It's difficult to say exactly what I would use this for. I do some fabrication mainly in the area of custom off-road truck accessories and custom metal/wood furniture. I do do know i want to be able to mill mild steel.

I live in the Tulsa Oklahoma area and would be willing to drive a few hours for the right thing.

Thank you for any suggestions toward the right mill and of course any available for purchase..

Virgil

The RF type mills can be a good deal used, but new you can get better machines for the money. That HF mill is definitely a possibility, there are a couple of members here with that mill or a similar one from Grizzly and they seem to like them. I have a small Clausing knee mill about the same size that I am quite happy with.

It is more than your budget, but similar price to the HF mill, so I'd also suggest looking at the PM25.

PM25

Looking at new machines $800-1500 pretty much leaves you with mini-mills, you have a lot more options at $1500-2500.

Hopefully Jack has something to fit your needs.

Wow , never knew they were that expensive . If size were not an issue , you could pick up a used full size BP or clone in good shape for approx the same price .

Wow , never knew they were that expensive . If size were not an issue , you could pick up a used full size BP or clone in good shape for approx the same price .

They have gone up due to the tariffs. That has really changed some of the dynamics of shopping for a new machine, since there are few options that haven't seen a big price increase.