Lathe bed welding casting

spenca

Registered
Registered
Hi

Has anybody tried to build lathe bed from welded sheet of ssteel and cast in it polimer concrete.
Gray cast iron is good because of vibration how about welded bed.

Any legit advice?

Thanks

Is your plan to build your own metal lathe?

I have no experience with what you are purposing. I will offer a suggestion though. Most old worn out metal lathes have considerable wear in the first foot of bed next to the head. Buy a worn out old lathe for cheap and cut off the first foot - foot and a half of bed then use the rest for your project. Many of the old lathe beds I have seen are pretty virgin one you get past that first foot or so of worn bed. It also seems like the longer the bed on the old worn out lathe the cheaper they are as most hobbyists don't want to dedicate the shop space to a long bed lathe.

Just a thought to hopefully spur some creative thinking.

Welding usually means building up stresses in the metal so if you do go this route you will want to peen your welds well to reduce the built up stresses which cause warping.

Maybe you could describe your project in a bit more detail?

Last edited:
Welding is going to warp it and you'll be back to scraping it flat again.

Look up "gingerly lathe" for some ideas on making your own.

Personally, I wouldn't diy it if you intended to have any great degree of accuracy. . But everyone has a different comfort and skill level. There's also availability. Guam is pretty close to Taiwan and China, so I would expect there are at least some options in your area.

Edit: whoops, thought it said Guam as a country, missed that it is actually Slovenia....you're probably looking t some old USSR equipment where you are. Some of the stuff they made is really good, you just have to hunt it down...