I bought a Lagun! Now I have questions.

jimmcw

Registered
Registered
I have been mill-shopping for several months, keeping my eyes open on Craigslist and FB Marketplace, when this deal popped up near me. Lagun FT-2. I went to check it out - the mill looked nice, larger and older than I was planning for, but the thing that made me think "I can't pass this up" was the tooling that the guy was including as part of the deal. Photo shows just a fraction of it. Dividing head, rotary table, sine plate, on and on. Collets, gear cutting tooling (new skill to learn!), two tool boxes full of end-mills, taps, reamers, slot cutters, on and on. Mill seemed in good condition I am a hobbyist and not an expert evaluator of condition, so some qualms. The seller was a tool and die maker and he set up a home shop after retiring and did piece work to stay busy, mostly making dies for injection molding, and now he was retiring "for real". He said a few years prior a tool re-builder come to re-work his South Bend Lathe, and ge had him inspect the Lagun mill and see what needed to be done, and after doing so he was told it was in good shape and really didn't need a rebuild. Taking that for granted and given the price was $5,000 for all plus moving at $635 (which seller agreed to split with me), deal! Several thousand dollars worth of tooling, easily.

Two pictures from the sellers shop.
IMG_4071.jpg

Some of the tooling included.
67EAFDD6-4824-4032-8608-D6228DD33110.jpg

I had to remove the table to get it through the door into my shop (was suprisingly easy after watching a YouTube by H&W Machine Repair). This gave me the opportunity to check the wear on the ways and the lead screw - looks really good to me.

I do have some questions: