Gene Weber's PM-728VT CNC Conversion

gene_weber

Registered
Registered
I'm using time off over the holidays to work on my PM-728VT CNC conversion. Koenbro’s conversion thread provides a wealth of information that I’m relying on. So, I thought I’d document my conversion here as well to perhaps help someone else. This conversion uses PM’s Ultra Precision CNC Ballscrew Kit.

I tried to do this conversion as inexpensively as possible, while maintaining a high level of precision and quality. Some of that's subject, and obviously there are many trade offs. I'm maintaining a spreadsheet of almost everything I purchased for the conversion, and will publish that when the project is complete.

I'm a Linux person, and any card that requires Windows is a non-starter / non-negotiable. So this conversion will use Linux-CNC and a Mesa FPGA card with a Raspberry Pi 4B. To be honest I have a lot to learn about Linux-CNC, but I'm a computer scientist, so not too concerned.

I justified this purchase for the resto-mod of a Triumph Spitfire that I’ve started. The goal is to install a non-stock engine. Who knows how many parts I might need to make. Ha ha, I'm already $8K into this CNC mill. Obviously I could pay someone to make more custom parts than the Spitfire will ever need for that much money. The reality of this purchase is it's a hobby unto itself. I plan to retire in about a year and a half. I hope to spend many hours with this mill making things. I really enjoy pretty much any creative project. My wood shop, and wood working skills are decent, so time to setup for metal and learn some metal working skills. Actually I may use this mill on wood as well. Right now I know zero about running a mill. The adventure begins.

First question I have. What lubricant should be used on the ball screws? I asked PM and they didn’t have any recommendation.

IMG_20221221_155710887.jpg