Drill Press and drill bit question.

GazzaS

Registered
Registered
HI everyone,
I am a plastic model builder. For a long time I have been considering learning how to machine metal parts to enhance plastic kits. Because scale models are small, most of the drilling is done with .5mm (.1819 inch) bits or smaller. Many of these fine bits get broken while using a pin vise in plastic alone. I use carbide and HSS bits.

My current project requires me to drill small holes into 8mm (3/8 inch) stainless steel tubing with relatively thin walls. I know that I cannot do it without a drill press. But I don't know if it can be made to work with such fragile bits.

I don't even know if a center drill has a fine enough point to start such a small hole. So all of this makes it difficult to invest in tools that may be too big for small tasks.

Thank you for your thoughts.

Gary

do you mean .0181" ? .181" is close to 3/16" which is not overly fragile. If so what you should be looking for is a high speed sensitive drill.

A few years ago I wanted to drill small (0.032”) holes into stainless tube. This was before I had machine tools, but I’m not sure my approach would be different. The bit was so small that my drill press was not useful (too slow and not enough feel). I used a Dremel with its little 3-jaw chuck. My tube was thick enough (0.035” wall) that I made some transverse slices to thin where I drilled, as shown below. The bit noticeably degraded but made it through the six holes I wanted.

I’m not sure how helpful it is to your example, but I’d want a pretty fast spindle (5-8k for the 0.032” drill I used) and something with feel. I know there are “sensitive drill presses” that seem well suited to it. My current drill press will go to 4K rpm, but I don’t think there’s enough feel to avoid breaking a bit.

99d5d14a7343a86cbe6cad3959ff4ccf.jpg

This is an “atomizer” that goes across the nozzle of a backpack leaf blower and lets me dispense insecticide as a mist; for mosquitoes.