CO2/Argon 5%, 10%, 15% ?? When? Why?

graham-xrf

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
After a little tangle not getting through the Brexit border, the new welder has finally arrived. I have found a place not too far away that will always return the entire deposit on a gas bottle, no matter how long you keep it (years), so it's never on hire. They supply the three different mixes of CO2/Argon, and also Argon Pure, and Oxygen, and Acetylene.

My welder does MIG, and Lift-TIG (and some other options for stick, polarity, AC or DC). To choose a particular gas mix, one needs reasons.
So - what are the conditions that would motivate one to choose (say) 5% CO2, or 10% maybe. What drives the choice?

I'm far from an expert but TIG requires 100% Argon, MIG is 75% Argon + 25% Co2

Yes, I totally forgot about straight Co2!

For MIG, I use straight CO2, that is the cheapest and the best penetration, but an argon mix will give smoother welds.
Straight CO2 does make for a hot, fluid puddle, but you should check out the video Jody did on welding a Jeep bumper where he also tested some welded samples by putting them in a 20Ton press, one was welded with straight CO2 and the other with 75/25 Argon/CO2. The winner, as determined by Jody, would surprise you, as it did me.

Straight CO2 does make for a hot, fluid puddle, but you should check out the video Jody did on welding a Jeep bumper where he also tested some welded samples by putting them in a 20Ton press, one was welded with straight CO2 and the other with 75/25 Argon/CO2. The winner, as determined by Jody, would surprise you, as it did me.
I need to check this one out.