Awesome Vise Speed Handle Deal - Made in USA

Tomzo

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
I wanted to share my experience with an awesome vise speed handle I recently received. I am new to the hobby and found a round column mill locally off Craigslist for a decent price. I needed a vise and since money IS an object, I bought a 4" import vise off Amazon. It is no Kurt, but the price was right and its accuracy meshes well with my skill level. The handle for it is terrible and is extremely inconvenient to use if I have to make more than a few turns.

I was looking around for a speed handle but my vise has an oddball size so most of the import versions would not fit. I stumbled across this listing and found that the seller, Richard Getso from McAllen Texas, offered to make custom sizes. He asks that buyers measure the flats on the nut and send them to him. Mine measured 0.4635", so he made one to fit 0.465". He CNC machines these in his garage to order and sells them for $25 - including shipping!

The speed handle arrived about four days after I ordered it on a Saturday and man am I impressed. The fit is snug - I filed a few little burrs on the end of the nut to make it slip on. It is easy to remove, but does not try to wander off while in use. The finish is beautiful and he engraves his logo and the size on the vise. I wish the logo was on the other side as you can't see it when the handle is on the vise. He even machined a test nut to my specifications to test the fit and sent it along with the handle.

All of us in this hobby would love to buy Made in USA gear, but we are generally put off by the price or availability. This awesome maker brings this opportunity home and I, for one, and grateful for his service. I almost feel guilty for paying so little!

Here is the listing: https://www.ebay.com/itm/325103291231?hash=item4bb1aa8b5f:g:GygAAOSwcmRh8jRY

Attachments

• Speed Handle 1.jpg
    Speed Handle 1.jpg
    110.1 KB · Views: 82