Arcing Brushes??

deandad

Registered
Registered
ok ... so ... newbie here ... just starting out: I ultimately want to use the motor out of my wife's treadmill to power a drill press ... I know, I know ... first I have to convince her that I can't fix it. It was doing fine for quite awhile [as a treadmill, at least], then it [sort of suddenly] started to arc in the brush area, smell "electrical", lose power, and generally run real slow as well as poorly [but nothing was spilled on it or anything like that]. So I'm trying to diagnose it while it's still in the treadmill: motor controller is MC60, motor is a 2.5 HP McMillan, treadmill is a ProForm [Sears, I think ... It was given to us]. I popped off the end cap and looked at the brushes: They seem fine ... not even close to worn or too short. Springs and caps seem fine, too. Yet, when I reassemble it, it still seems like too much spark and too much smell ... I never had the covers off and looked at it while it was running OK, so I don't really have anything to compare to.

So I guess my question is [vague, I know]: Should I be looking at the MC60, or the Power Board, or the motor itself?? If I need parts, I would rather get parts for a drill press than parts for a treadmill ... nobody can help me with that battle, so, all I'm really asking for is maybe a process of elimination to sort of help me start to know where to look for the culprit ... if i have to admit defeat on fixing the treadmill: I can then start work on the drill press [but maybey not with this treadmill if it needs new boards and a new motor].

Thanks for any possible help or encouragement ...

Shorted armature maybe? Take a close look at the commutator segments. Are any of them shorted together, maybe with brush carbon? Are they pretty rough?

And on another note, of course you can't fix it safely for use as a treadmill, that motor should be only run in the shop where you can keep a close eye on it. ;):grin: