Where to shop for quality metal lathe tools?

cneuor

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi everyone,

I’m a beginner and currently have no tools at all, so I’m looking for everything I’ll need for a metal lathe. I’ve been relying on recommendations from this forum and learning as I go. From inserts to measuring tools, I’m not sure what specific items I need yet.

Amazon seems to have mostly cheap options, and I haven’t found much elsewhere. Any recommendations for quality tools and sites that won’t break the bank on shipping?

Thanks again for your help!

Last edited:
Would help if you could tell us what you are looking for. Lathe tools is too broad. That could be anything from HSS tool bits and inserts to chucks to CNC conversion and everything in between.

KBC Tools, Has bimonthly sales flyer (Kind of reminiscent of Enco) and free shipping on orders over a certain amount, varies.
Victor Machinery Exchange, lots of import stuff but usually of good quality.
McMaster Carr when you need something tomorrow and they are very reasonable on shipping.

Cutting tools or measuring tools or workholding tools? Gotta specify

I get a lot of good tools from Amazon. The difficulty therein lies in the fact that they have the full range of quality from gold to garbage. I'm sure you'll get a lot of good answers / recommendations if you ask about specific items. There's no one-stop all-quality shop for everything...

...well, I guess there *is* McMaster...

GsT

First, what size lathe? We need this to determine what size tool post, tool holders and tools you will be shopping for.