[Newbie] VFD Undervolt Error with SVC

mMcFab

Registered
Registered
Howdy!
I'm having a weird issue with a VFD setup, and I can't figure it out for the life of me. I've tried searching the forums, the goog, and basically any forum that I think could have info but either I'm not searching the right terms or this issue is kinda unusual or both. I'm very new to this and this is my first time dealing with a VFD, please bear with me

Here's what happens:
In V/F mode, the motor seems to run like normal. However, it's my understanding that SVC provides better torque at lower speeds, so I want the motor to run in this mode (it's final living place will be on a lathe, I want a bit of extra torque for low-speed operations like parting, the stock DC motor isn't cutting it, so I figured it's "go big or go home")
As soon as I enable SVC, the motor often fails to start, or squeals before physically jumping and starting, but always cuts out at low speeds with an err09 fault (undervoltage) - squeal seems to get louder before the cut-out. Speed control at higher speeds seems to be ok, but during startup and low speeds it acts very weird
It's seemingly random if it actually starts moving in the first place. It draws more current when doing this before the fault occurs (I know this because I was running an undersized 10A fuse at the start without the breaker switch and it only popped them in this state. Do not worry, I'm using appropriately sized fuses now alongside the breaker, and now it just errors and cuts out safely , though it still causes the lights to dim a little, and my hand remains close to the power switch, just in case)
Autotune runs correctly (at least I think so, I don't really have anything to compare it to), but then running the motor still fails

Running at low speeds in V/F mode is fine, it's fine at any speed even.