Long Bar Holding Option

MaverickNH

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I planning to replicate a brass cannon I made on our Makerspace Southbend lath on my 7x16 LMS Mini-Lathe. The 1.25" bass rod doesn't fit through the spindle hole. Dimensions aren't critical but I'd like to use best practices as I learn.

The cannon itself is 5" long. What's my best option, turning from centers, a steady rest, other? Thanks!

1000001027.jpg

Make a stepped adapter that slips inside the tube and stops at the step to hold the open end true with a live center in the tailstock

Make a stepped adapter that slips inside the tube and stops at the step to hold the open end true with a live center in the tailstock
As a relative beginner, I'm not quite sure what such a design might look like - or if I have the skill to make it. But I'm willing to learn!

@MaverickNH

Having run long stock on my 7x (full bed length stock at 2"+), here are two things to consider.

1 ) ALWAYS, always ALWAYS run a follower rest to stop stock deflection during initial machining. These mount to the L/H side of the saddle (the bit the cross slide moves across). Be aware, however, that these can cause marring of the surface, so that needs to be considered and planned for.

2 )ALWAYS run a live centre suited to the stock you are turning

3) When running a live centre, you want it as close in to the tailstock housing as possible to limit any possibility for deflection and you will want lock that tailstock down to the bed as much as possible. I often "Tag" my tailstock locking handle with a light mallet to lock the tailstock down to ensure it cannot "skid/slide" backwards or otherwise move during turning procedures. Not recommended, just something I happen to do myself..