What I make

gnead

Registered
Registered
Here is what I make with my home shop equipment, custom made golf putters for people all over the world, it has grown quite a bit over the last few years
image.jpg

image.jpg

I don't know nothing about golfing, But thats is some nice work.

Paul

I am not a golfer either, but I can recognize craftsmanship when I see it! Nice work, maybe you wouldn't mind sharing some details on the process you use to make these, what equipment you have, materials used etc. You don't need to give away trade secrets, but as a hobbiest and engineer, I am always interested in how things are made.

Very nice! Is that moku?

I am not a golfer either, but I can recognize craftsmanship when I see it! Nice work, maybe you wouldn't mind sharing some details on the process you use to make these, what equipment you have, materials used etc. You don't need to give away trade secrets, but as a hobbiest and engineer, I am always interested in how things are made.

These to putters were made made from 3 pieces, and welded together. These putters were built on a Bridgeport knee mill with a 15" rotary table that I made a fixture to increase the radius I can cut, I basically rough the shape in and grind sand and polish from there.
The necks are made on my 9" south bend lathe with a tapper attachment, which I restored myself.
The face of the putter is ground on a B&S No. 2 surface grinder and then engraved with a antique straight line engine machine.
The customer for these putters had ask for a face of carbon steel and flange of stainless welded together.
The other one is the opposite. Both have Mokume gane inserts, ferrules and sight dots composed of copper and nickel silver.
As far as machines I have:
Acer CNC mill
Bridgeport knee mill
Alliant knee mill
B&S surface grinder
9" South Bend lathe
Miller Tig welder
Various belt sanders and grinders and polishing wheels.