Total beginner needs help selecting PM lathe

USMA84DAB

Registered
Registered
Just spent 2+ hours reading prior threads about this topic. Want to run the scenario by the gallery of experts to head in the right direction.

Background - I am a veteran in the VA Vocational Rehab program. 100% disabled. (Don't be fooled - the VA disability rating system is a mix of witchcraft and voodoo - I still intend to be self-reliant and earn my keep.) I will go to Trinidad State gunsmithing school in June (Coronavirus allowing). The intent of buying a PM lathe is to build rifles in my home business. I intend to get to 20 hour work weeks, accommodating standing/sitting times for the jump school-fostered back challenge, as well as the other souvenirs from my time with Uncle Sam. My intent is to get 20 years out of this rifle shop. At 77, that would be enough and I figure I will have earned my keep.

I must submit a list of required tooling (with justifications outlining why I need it) to the VA in order to support my request for the grant to buy the machinery. I am examining the PM 1440GS, 1440BV, and the 1440GT. Features that my instructor at Trinidad State has pointed me towards are: 2" spindle, ability to use low RPMs, slow/fine feed rates, variable speeds.

I have "heard" from reading here, and from my instructor at school, that mainland equipment is to be avoided. This would eliminate the GS & BV. The price tag of $10,222.94 for the GT is breathtaking, however. I want to be relatively certain that this level of machinery is necessary to build dangerous game rifles and such before I waltz into the VA and stick my paw out asking for $10,000+ for one piece of machinery. If that is the price of admission to the ballgame, so be it. I just have to have my ducks in a row when I take that news in to the case worker.