Tool selection for a PM1030V

OutaTheBox

Registered
Registered
I am relatively new to turning and have outgrown my Grizzly 7x14. i have a 1030V on order and need to also order some tools. I have ground some bits before, mostly one off form tools, but to be honest i'd rather be cutting metal and making stuff rather than perfecting the art of grinding bits. So i'm looking at insert tools. I had read somewhere that lower powered lathes like the 1030 would be happier with triangle inserts than diamond shape inserts and HSS would generally be a better choice than Carbide. Given that, i was going to buy some 1/2" tools that will take TCMT32.5x carbide inserts and then get some T15 HSS TPMB-322 inserts from AR Warner.
Two questions:
1. Are my assertions correct, does my plan make sense?
2. Other than the price , what is the difference between an expensive insert tool and a moderately priced insert tool? specifically will there be a noticeable difference in rigidity, and/or is it a matter of "(insert) fit and finish"

Peter

1. Your plan is logical within the constraints of your stated preferences.

2. Within my own limited experience with industrial grade tooling, the difference does exist. Industrial grade tooling is “better”. You will experience greater rigidity as a result of greater mass. You will probably experience better finish as a result of more expensive inserts from reputable US based machine tool vendors.

At the hobby level, we often prioritize a lot of affordable tooling over a little bit of industrial grade tooling.

The best equipped hobby shops are either built with used industrial grade stuff, or budgets that most of us couldn’t justify.

If you want to know about insert tooling, we have a member with the username davidpbest, who I believe literally wrote a book on the subject. Search out his content!

And besides him, there’s a bunch of guys who (unlike me) aren’t stricken with sudden bouts of dyslexia when confronted with names like CCMNG, or CCMT.