Table Question

jmltinnc

Registered
Registered
Hi All,

Full disclosure: I am a Newb. Just bought a mill a month ago and just today cleaned the Cosmoline off the table. I have no means to move a knee mill so I had to settle for a tabletop and all its disadvantages. It is a Weis VM25L that is very much like the PM-25MV, so I think this sub-forum may be an appropriate place to post my question - an easy one to answer (I hope)!

When cleaning, I noticed the X-axis Support Flanges (Ref numbers 33 & 40 in the PM-25MV book) are not mounted to provide a flat surface beyond the table itself. These Support Flanges are the ends of the table that support the X leadscrew. One side is higher than the table and the other is lower.
  • Is this acceptable?
  • Does it really matter?
  • Has any ever had this problem?
  • Can I just loosen and reposition or is there something else I should be aware of?
That's it, thanks,
John

Hi All,

Full disclosure: I am a Newb. Just bought a mill a month ago and just today cleaned the Cosmoline off the table. I have no means to move a knee mill so I had to settle for a tabletop and all its disadvantages. It is a Weis VM25L that is very much like the PM-25MV, so I think this sub-forum may be an appropriate place to post my question - an easy one to answer (I hope)!

When cleaning, I noticed the X-axis Support Flanges (Ref numbers 33 & 40 in the PM-25MV book) are not mounted to provide a flat surface beyond the table itself. These Support Flanges are the ends of the table that support the X leadscrew. One side is higher than the table and the other is lower.
  • Is this acceptable?
  • Does it really matter?
  • Has any ever had this problem?
  • Can I just loosen and reposition or is there something else I should be aware of?
That's it, thanks,
John
Addendum: