Standards Or Blocks To Test Micrometers?

AR. Hillbilly

Registered
Registered
I recently bought some micrometers on ebay. I got a Starett 0-1" and a Brown and Sharp 0-1" a Starette 1-2" a Starett 2-3" and a 6" starett that takes different anvils but only got the 5-6" anvils. I'm looking to buy standards or blocks to set and test these. I'm having no luck on ebay or any of the machinist sales places I've visited. I'm not sure what to call these or what to look for. Any and all advice would be appreciated. I'm a complete noob.

I would just buy a set of shop grade gage blocks and use them. I in fact do exactly that. They will fill many other needs in the shop as well. I have standards for my micrometers, but have never seen a standard of accuracy for them, plus I do not know their history, mostly being used micrometer standards. A new set of gage blocks (grade B is adequate for a hobby shop) is a known quantity, and is what is used to calibrate micrometers for continuing work in certified shops. A grade B set of gage blocks costs about the same as a set of mic standards.

I use the gage blocks to calibrate the mic standards...

Last edited:
Thank you guys so much. I don't know why my searches have been so empty. These give me a lot of choices.

Remember that Jo blocks are flat, as should the anvil and spindle of the micrometer. If there is an issue with doming, dishing, or other out of flat or parallel condition on the instrument, then a flat check will really only get you part of the story.

Specific micrometer standards can (and seem mostly to) have slightly convex faces. Naturally, this will not detect the exact same problem type as a flat standard such as Jo block.