Spotting Drills

rwm

Robert
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I am new to spotting drills. I have always used center drills (incorrect I know) to start holes and now I want to do it right. I am confused about the point angles. I see spotting drills that come with 3 different angles: 90, 120, and 140 deg. I have read that the 90 can be used with any drill angle if the spotting hole is larger than the final hole. Is this good practice? Which angle do I want to use with standard drills? I think my twist drills have both 118 and 135 deg angles?
Any other thoughts on spotting drills or hole starting are welcome on this thread.
Robert

Spotting drills- Function? i think this post for 2011 pretty much sums it up. i must look into it. now i use center drills after a good smack with a center punch, or just go right to the stub drill. . it seems stub drills have a hard time to wobble also.

I did a search and read that post. It really only addresses the 90 deg drill use. I am hoping someone can enlighten me on the best practice and which angle I should buy.
R

This can get into a pissing contest disagreement, but here is how I see it. The spotting drill needs to have a larger included angle "cone" than the drill that will follow if it is to be a centering aid. If you are using a standard 118 degree drill then you should use a 120 degree spotting drill, if using a 135 degree drill, then use a 140 degree spotting drill. Make the starting hole a little larger than the chisel point of the drill. That way the drill is actually centered by the larger angle starting cone. If you use a spotting drill with a smaller angle, the drill's cutting edges will catch on the corners of the cone and the drill will walk. If you drill the spotting hole larger than the drill bit, then the outside edges of the drill will kinda wanta center in the smaller angle cone, but the outer cutting edges will still tend to grab and the drill will still tend to walk in the smaller angle hole.