Southbend 9" Information Needed

HiCap239

Registered
Registered
Hello Everyone,

I just signed up today and I must say this site is an excellent source of information. I am somewhat new to metal lathes. I have an ENCO 9 x 20 that I have been working on too much, and have come to the realization with much reading that it is better to get an older American made lathe. I have done a lot of research and looking on Craigslist. I am in Southwest Florida and there seems to be a few lathes for sale here and there. I was poking around on Ebay yesterday just to see if there was anything decent and close. I found this ending tomorrow Item #2703219
What jumps right out at you here? Yep the rear assembly is reversed. I have been thinking about making this purchase but I am on the fence. The seller has send me several pictures, I wanted to see what the WAYS looked like and the back of the rear assembly with the motor. I am assuming (yes, I used the "A" word!) that the Horizontal Adjustable Countershaft can be removed from its housing allowing the 3 step cone pully to be turned 180 degrees so when the complete assembly is turned to the correct position both sets of cone pullys are correctly aligned. The ways looked good, from the pictures...... but then again I am not right there with a machinists straight edge to check them either. I asked the seller about the rear assembly he said it was like that when he bought it and it has worked fine for him. He also said this "