Shrink Fitting

B

BRIAN

Forum Guest
Register Today
In the next month or so I will be fitting the bronze valve cages into the aluminium heads on my Five cylinder radial engine. I have a electric hot plate that I have used for fitting bearings very successfully, to heat the head and I am thinking of freezing the cages with Plumbers freezing spray but I have no experience using this spray.
Has anyone used this product??? I understand from safety literature that the liquid Leaves the container
at -50° c So it seems ideal for cooling my small pieces of bronze. but more knowledge would be a great help.

Brian.

An alternate consideration.

The sublimation point (turns from solid to vapor) of dry ice is about -78C. A dry ice acetone bath is commonly used to chill things in laboratories and will go down to -78C. It would provide a more consistent temperature than trying to chill with a spray. You may be able to get dry ice locally. Dry ice can also be made from carbon dioxide welding gas. The tank would be tilted to have liquid escape instead of the gas and usually is vented into something like a cloth bag. The evaporation of the liquid will form the dry ice in the process. There are also special tanks with a siphon tube running to the bottom so you don't have to invert the tank.

Check Wikipedia for more information.

lot's of interesting suggestions. Never knew that plumber spray was available...

I would just put the parts in my freezer.

David

Just looked at Wikipedia. In addition to acetone, ethyl alcohol (grain alcohol) or methanol (wood alcohol) will also work.

Both of these should be available from paint dealers.

I always heated up one part in the oven (when the wife is out ) and put the other in the freezer the night before.

Don’t know your interference fit spec. I don’t bother with all the running around and extra costs. I just throw the stuff in the freezer. And use a map torch, my hot plate or oven. Sometimes, I just apply the heat. Works for me…Dave.