Shop Fox-Just another China brand or?

visenfile

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Newbie here continues to review offerings online. Shop Fox has a "gunsmith" 12x36 and a 13 x 40 on sale with free shipping. Anything special or just rebadged? Ads say 2 year warranty, but I don't see who you contact in case. Thanks for comments.

Yup just another label on tools from China. The M1112 12x36 is basically the same as the Grizzly G4003G. You may find some minor differences and I'm not sure if either has an advantage are far as fit and finish.

Shop Fox is one of Shiraz Balolia's brands. Shiraz is the owner of Grizzly.

He has the Grizzly line-up, the South Bend line up and the Shop Fox line up.

The Shop Fox line is marketed through his Wholesale distribution branch to dealers, where-as the Grizzly line up is sold through his stores.

The basic difference between Shop Fox and Grizzly is similar to the difference between a Dodge and a Plymouth, paint and trim.

Walter

Thanks. It kind of looked that way. So it does seem like what I read somewhere. The Chinese lathes come into the US with a little envelope full of suggested brand names and the distributor picks one he likes. Just like the wild west. The forum seems sensitive to asian brands other than ones they choose to feature. I wish if this is so to state it . But for buyers it would be nice to hear about warranty, support and parts availability from the "other" distributors who are mostly selling the same lathes with different logos. Thoughts?