Reinventing Myself

gr8legs

Active User
Rest In Peace
Well, this has been one helluva year.

The Covid virus put my two main projects (a Television Studio and a tavern game called the 'Kissmeter' on hold as nobody is shooting video nor kissing strangers right now -

And my 'hobby business' for the last 40+ years (a movie theatre) also succumbed to Covid. Maybe that's better for my disposition - not having to deal with landlords, business partners, teen-aged hired help and all the government interaction having employees entails has significantly lowered my stress level :)

And circulating my resume' as a software / firmware engineer or computer hardware designer has been a dismal failure. When hiring managers see I graduated in 1968 they can do the math and don't think they want a greybeard in their mix, plus I'm picky about how far I'm willing to commute on the highways and byways.

But I'm not ready to give it all up just yet - although a rising PSA may change those plans but for now I'm still planning on staying active and (self) employed.

So, I inventoried my skill set and the needs in my community and figured out that my 40+ year ago diploma from the Locksmithing Institute of Little Falls New Jersey might provide entertainment and even some pin money as life goes on. It has been surprising to me that locks are pretty much the same mechanical technology now as they were 40 years ago - electronics hasn't yet taken over. And I've dabbled with locks quite a bit in the interim, keeping a hand in by doing my own work on rental and commercial projects I am involved with or own.

So I got busy haunting craigslist and after about 6 weeks found an old electric company truck, probably a 'meter test' rig, in pretty good shape with some useful appurtenances:

StuTruck_1.jpg

and started equipping it for a new business starting January 4.