Radius/diameter turning mode

Scorn64

Registered
Registered
I’m a novice machinists that just ordered a new lathe. I’m starting out by adding a DRO to the lathe. (TouchDRO)

What is everyone’s opinion on using radius vs. diameter mode? Because I’m just starting out I have the opportunity to get accustomed to either.

Is it better to view numbers as a finished amount or to just remember that the value is doubled? I know it’s six of half a dozen of another, but I just wanted the opinions of people who have used both.

I would set it the same as the handwheel increments. I have learned to love the diameter mode, which my new lathe came with.

I use diameter because that's how the drawings & my brain both work. I normally turn until a clean round, mic, then set the DRO so when I get to final it reads zero. Just before final I'll mic again just to be sure. If there are several diameters on one part I'll just set to diameter and put a cheat sheet where I can easily see it. Works better than my memory.

I use both. I have a lathe specific DRO display so it has a button to toggle back & forth. Some universal DRO displays do not have the radius/diameter mode button. I'm not familiar with the TouchDRO, if it doesn't have the toggle button, perhaps it's feature that may be hidden somewhere or could possibly be programmed in?

If I didn't have the toggle button, I personally would set it to radius mode. Higher resolution & it would be just like when I used my lathes before having a DRO. My current lathe has indirect dials & I prefer it that way.

I love diameter mode. Set so the cross slide movement toward center is the negative direction.

Take a cut, mic the diameter, the plug the measured diameter into the DRO for X. Then, the x value on the DRO is the diameter of your part. As you get close, you can still take measurements and light cuts to hit tighter tolerances.

If the tolerances aren't tight, just take cuts until the DRO displays the diameter you want to hit.