QCTP progress and problems

good job mike
that looks a lot better
steve

Thanks, Steve.

Now, I can get down to the nitty-gritty. I'm still seeing what looks like very fine "threads" on the piece. Is this a matter of feeds? I'm running at abut the middle of the range (I'm out of the shop, so I can't be specific.) But, what would be a good number that I should be using for the rough, and finish, cuts?

Or, do I need more of a radius on the cutter? Or, is this what it is, and I should finish with files and emery?

it could be. the slower the feed the better the finish if the problem looks like a thread
also did you stone your edges or just grind? polishing the cutting edge with a fine stone may help
the pic looks like you put a radius on the point thats good
i'd try it slower first
steve

it has a lot to do with the material
have you ever seen the cutters in a brake lathe for turning rotors I was a mechanic all my life and i really never paid close attention.
they are set at a negative rake, they look like they are just rubbing the side at about a 10 degree down angle
that has to be because it is cutting cast rotors because it works very well
so what works for one material may be the worst for another
I'm just learning myself
steve

Mike,

You might want to try a vertical shear bit to get a little better finish. I find they work really well for really fine finish cuts. It makes really small steel threads - almost like steel wool. I can post a picture if you're not familiar with it.
Steve

After reading all the docs and links, I realized I'm doing pretty much the same thing with a cheap insert toolhold, the kind that uses triangular inserts with relief lip.