• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Sloth2009

IMG_4852.JPG IMG_4857.JPG IMG_4858.JPG IMG_4859.JPG IMG_4863.JPG IMG_4864.JPG IMG_4865.JPG IMG_4866.JPG IMG_4868.JPG IMG_4870.JPG IMG_4871.JPG IMG_4872.JPG IMG_4875.JPG IMG_4879.JPG IMG_4882.JPG IMG_4885.JPG IMG_4886.JPG IMG_4911.JPG IMG_4912.JPG IMG_4913.JPG

I am a pharmacist by trade and have never used a milling machine before. I decided to buy this mill mostly to help slot guards for my knife making hobby and for some other projects I have planned like crossbow parts and sterling engines. I know it's been done before, but I'd like show a bit of my decision making plus the delivery and setup process.

I decided I was going to buy a mill last fall and have been picking up some R8 tooling when I can. I bought an integrated HHIP R8 drill chuck, a set of end mill holders, end mills, spot drills, and a 2" indexable carbide face mill. Most of which was from Amazon.

For work holding, I bought some pivot clamps, extra T-slot nuts, and a 4" Shars 440v milling vise.

I may pick up a fly cutter for flexibility and potentially better finish than the Accusize face mill. Eventually I would like a rotary table and some machine screw length drill bits as well.