New "To Me" JET JVM-840

edianv

Registered
Registered
Hi folks.
I recently got my hands on a JET JVM-840 mill built in 1981. This poor girl had been sitting neglected for more than 10 years in the wettest corner of the machine shop where I work, collecting dust, rust and everything else you can think of. I'm not a machinist by trade but I do enjoy working and fixing stuff in my shop (two car garage). I've wanted a mill for a while and when I saw the opportunity to take this baby home for $0.00 I couldn't resist, even in her condition. At some point our safety department tagged her "Out of service" due to a fried motor and put some Danger tape and hung a Caution sign on her. Then, some cruel human being marked her with an orange "X" on the column. I know, it breaks my heart too. :(
Try not to cry too much but she does look pretty rough. Oh, ignore the hose spigot handle someone added to replace the switch knob, I think that was for added precision. The mill did not come with a power feed, DRO or any tooling but she did come with a rusty/seized machinist vise which was sitting on the table under the caution sign. The label on the vise is missing and it has no other markings but it appears to be from the same era. I'll be restoring that too when I get to that point. As you can probably guess by now, my goal is to restore/rebuild this poor thing back to some similarity of what it use to be 40 years ago. Well, to the best of my ability. I don't know how I feel about scraping the ways if she needs it, but I'll cross that bridge when I get there. That's a problem for future me and present me is happy dreaming I won't need to. :D
I've been doing a lot of research and so far I've found a few other very similar machines from various manufacturers.
  • E.M.E VO-A2F
  • Myford VM-F
  • Grizzly has several but I think the G0695 is the closest relative
  • Ko-Shin KF-VO-A2F
  • Sharp KF-VO-A2F