New Mill purchase and looking for tooling advice/recomendations

Todd_71

Registered
Registered
Hi All,

I'm new to machining and I just purchased a PM-932 mill.

I work with and plan to work with mainly mild steel. I have maybe one chunk of AL in my garage and no plan to use it for anything other than a heat sink at this point. I have a couple project now on hold pending the mill arrival which include facing a chunk of mild steel (2" wide) and milling a square (ish) hole in that 2" thick chunk of mild steel.

I'm looking for some advice on purchasing tooling, vise, and other suggestions I will need to get started. I don't want to break the bank but I appreciate a quality tool and rather pay more than be frustrated with cheap tools. So I'd appreciate any experience that you might share as to best value/quality purchase and where best to pick these things up. In hopes of saving me some time and frustration. :)

So far I have purchased a collet set, keyless chuck, and a clamp kit with the mill purchase.
I know I need (ok want) a good 5" or 6" vise. I'd like to have something that can accommodate at least a 5" opening 6" would be better. That said I've read that most recommend nothing larger than a 5" vise for my mill.
Face mill?
End mills?
dial indicators, etc.?
Other?

I've been lurking and reading as much as I can... Hope I didn't duplicate a post.
Thanks in advance for the feedback!!!

Todd

First off, WELCOME, you've chosen an all star forum.

No, you haven't duplicated a post but your question is answered in many threads, by people just like you, who have need of basic equipment. I'd Clicking on the "New Posts and Threads" tab at the top and reading all the posts that seem to be similar to yours. You can skip the ones (for now) that deal with lathes.

I'm new to machining and I just purchased a PM-932 mill.