New guy looking for the right lathe

beech277

Registered
Registered
Hi all,

Just found your site a few days ago and introduced myself over in the new members section.

I've been reading a lot of info over the past few days and the Craftsman/Atlas seems to keep coming up. I found one locally and actually looked at it on CL at least twice over the past few days before I realized what it was. I can't find a lot of info on what these machines go for, so I hope it's ok if I post a link to it and get your opinions this one. I'm a total newb, so any and all advice is appreciated.

http://nashville.craigslist.org/mpo/4647946671.html

Kevin

I think he is pretty out to lunch on the price, even where I live I wouldn't think to pay that much for a small atlas lathe. The tooling he has listed is pretty common fair on most lathes you would buy so no real additional value in tooling to justify the price. I have owned an atlas lathe and looked at a few more and my advice would be to look for something either newer or built to a slightly higher standard.

Shawn

ps. Just looked at the photos again and he is showing two completely different lathes in the photos. One of the photos shows a 12" atlas headstock.

pss $100 more and much better lathe http://nashville.craigslist.org/tls/4642690432.html

Thanks Shawn,

I appreciate the info.

I saw that one, but the listing was so vague I wasn't to sure about it. Can you tell what model it is from the pictures?

Welcome aboard. So is 1K your approximate price range?? Great. 2k it is. We will start shopping! Ok kidding but it sometimes goes down that way right?
Most of the regulars here know and will tell you tooling up the lathe or other machines can really add up and often exceed the price of the machine itself. So just something to keep in mind.