Measuring cuts lengthwise?

Jmanb13

Registered
Registered
Since i'm a beginner here, maybe i'm missing this, but how does one judge a cut along the bed?

I've searched for the answer here, but haven't run across anything yet.

The cross slide and the compound slide both have graduations for cutting into the work, but how would I know how much i'm cutting along the work?

Last edited:
As delivered I guess the short answer is that you don't. However you can add a DRO to the X axis, or you can add a "travel dial" to work with short X axis cuts.

I do lots of accurate short length cuts and have added a 1" travel dial to the the ways. It is adjustable so I can move it along the ways, and it has a built in travel stop, for repeat work.

indicator in workiing location.jpg

David

put a DTI digital test gauge on the travel and see if the readings are 1/2 the cut depth or is the actual amount of the depth of cut. on my lathe if I move the dial .010 it will take .010 off the diameter or a .005 depth in the cut. sorry I did not notice you meant along the bed length, I have used a 2" magnetic DTI on the ways to check distance moved.

The carriage hand wheel on my lathe has a dial but it is .020'' per mark or .660'' per turn........too coarse for most purposes.
For more precise control, with the carriage locked and the compound set parallel to spindle axis, feeding with the compound will give .001'' increments.
Otherwise a dial indicator on the ways is good for up to 1'' movement.

Last edited:
I have a trav-a-dial on mine (if you haven't seen them, they're attached to the carriage and have a wheel that rides on the front shear, geared to a dial graduated in thou"), they can be a bit clunky on small lathe's and possibly lose some carriage movement, or I can use slip gauges or length rods in the tray on the front way cover in combination with the micrometer stop and stop rod if I want better than a thou".