Machinerys Handbook

prasad

Active User
Registered
Guys,

I think I need a good reference book or two. Here is the background of my work.

I am a retired engineer by qualification and I spent my early years as an engineer working on control logic circuits, micro-computer based control system electronics, some years in mechanical equipment manufacturing and so on. That gave me plenty of exposure to understanding design of mechanical parts though my degree certificate said I was an electrical engineer. Later I went into management side of the business that had less to do with engineering. I have not forgotten everything that I learned though much of it is very hazy.

Initially I want to work on worm reduction drive for my astronomy applications. I have a small machine shop in the basement with a G4000 9x19 lathe and a G8689 mini-mill along with a few other accessories such as a bench grinder, belt sander, etc.

I want to do everything to the best level of quality and precision. To put everything into proper use I feel that I need some reference book(s). One book I thought of was the Machinerys Handbook. I browsed amazon.com and found many books by different authors. I could not decide which one would be the best. My immediate need was to refer proper guide on fits and tolerances. I want all aspects covered if possible.

I already have downloaded free books from the Internet like "How to run a SB lathe", etc. I would appreciate if you can advice me on what other books I could get, download or buy.

Thanks
Prasad
Wynnewood PA

Last edited:
Machinery's Handbook is the premier reference for machinists and engineers. 2500 pages of facts, figures, and standards. It is a must have book for any serious machinist/designer. But it doesn't necessarily tell you how to do a particular operation.