[Newbie] King lathe spindle question

hex705

Registered
Registered
Hi All,

I am new to this forum and I need some advice about a King 918 lathe ( or any king / similar lathe I suspect). I am an artist with experience probably similar to advanced hobbiest -- I am not a machinist by trade.

I purchased the king machine used so I don't know its full history.

I need to drill and thread a hole into the end of a long piece of 3/4" steel rod. The machine says it can handle this size passed through the chuck and the spindle.

Here is the manual for my machine (image of part in question attached below).
http://www.plansandprojects.com/Enco9x20lathemanual/CT-918 manual.pdf

My questions is about the spindle (part 3 on p25 of above doc, part 3 in image). Can anyone confirm that this should be a straight through 3/4" bored hole? Mine seems to have a piece inside that is causing an obstruction. I feel it is a piece I should be able to remove.

However -- the other possibility is that the obstructing material is one part of many that are all supposed to be there. This part could possibly be an element of the spindle proper and it is out of alignment? I which case removing it 1) will fail and 2) will likely ruin the spindle.

So specific question:

Are king lathe spindle bore's one piece or more than one piece (internally)?

Is it likely that something would be placed inside the spindle my the manufacturer?

Could there be an internal sleeve or shim that is out of alignment?

Will removing this piece destroy my machine ( i Know you can't be certain but gut feeling?).

I need to get a part made ASAP so removing this obstruction is vital. But I want to have a lathe at the end of my effort (more vital).

Any and all advice welcome -- sorry this got a bit long.
Thanks in advance.

steve

headStock.jpg

headStock.jpg

Item 3 is the spindle. The drawing shows that all of the other pieces are attached to the outside of the spindle.