Is my new boring bar defective?

DaveBarbier

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone, first, I have very little experience (no experience?) with machining, so I'm prepared to get taken to school for asking this question.

I just bought a QCTP from LittleMachineShop.com for my little Atlas/Crafstman 618. Everything seems great except this one boring bar.

Here's a picture. It's the one in the middle which I'm questioning. I really hope the image isn't too large.

IMG_9345.JPG

Notice how on the left and right boring bar the cutting part is angled so the tip hits the work first? Well the middle one is angled in such a way that it almost hits the work square, even angled the opposite way a hair. Is this just for a different operation and not traditional boring?

Thanks

Adjust toolpost to get optimum cutting angle and roll on

I was thinking of that, but it didn't seem right. I installed it and I'd have to be a more of an angle than I thought would be right. Note to self: don't trust me.

Thanks for the help, BigMo. I've got a lot to learn obviously. I've been watch Tubalcain like crazy the past months. I'll watch more :)

OK can I just ask question on using a boring head. . And I am sure you will figure it out but I am a newbie to machining.
I am trying to make the bearing block for Hoss' CNC X2 upgrade.
Ok..
I work up the drill bits until I get to 15/32".
I assume then don't move any mill axis and chuck up the boring head...
I have several boring bars. Which size should I use..
I have been using one just a hair smaller than my drilled hole. But I have had issues with the boring bar being in the center of my hole. I have had to adjust the boring head using the adjustment to get it centered. .
Then I move the boring bar to just scratch the hole surface.
Then I proceed to boring hole .285 deep and .687 wide.
The I have to flip and do side 2.
How to I realign the boring bar to center sick I have moved the work. .
Tried 2 of these.. both the shaft does not come out straight..