Is a Precision Tig 275 too much machine for me?

What should I do with a Precision TIG 275 and LN-25 Pro MIG Suitcase?

• Sell them and buy separate machines.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Sell them and buy an MTS machine.

• Sell them to me!

• Total voters

Tankueray

Registered
Registered
Howdy all,

Back in March I picked up a Lincoln Precision Tig 275 (ready pak) and an LN-25 Pro at the same estate sale that I bought my Bridgeport at. I don't think they've ever been used. I'm just now getting around to figuring out what to do with them. I am new to welding and only really have experience with MIG and mild steel, and most of that is on a HF Titanium 125 flux core welder. (A teeny bit on an old Millermatic 200.) The Bridgeport rebuild is almost done, and I'm building a CNC Plasma table now. I'm going to need to weld something soon, I hope.

Although I'm not a fan of Lincoln, from what I understand the PT 275 is an awesome machine, and I'm guessing I can attach the LN-25 to have MIG capability. But I have questions:
1.) Is this too much machine for me or all the machine I'll ever need? As in, should I sell it and get separates or an MTS machine; or keep it and use it as a ploy in a, "single woman with truck, tractor, and welder seeking mid-40s man" ad? I have no idea if I'll ever do fine aluminum work, but I know I'll need to the day after I decide to sell it.:rolleyes: The only drawback I can see from this setup is not having a "smart" MIG. I'm not opposed to saving up for a better MIG, but this isn't worse than the little 110v HF flux core, right?

2.) Is the MIG suitcase worth messing with? Is it generally the same as using any other MIG or am I going to hate it? How do I connect it to the PT 275? Lincoln doesn't have any info in the manuals for connecting either to the other (specifically). I do believe the stick terminals on the PT can be made hot to run the LN-25, and the LN has a CC/CV switch.