Installing a Logan QCGB. Logan 9B to 400 adaptation.

Matthew;

I must preface this by saying I really have no idea how the gearbox works. I stared at the pics of it upside down to see at least what it all looks like, but I still have no real understanding of what activates what, and I'm not experienced and/or smart enough to intuit its function just from staring at it. I don't even know what the parts are called. Assuming that the problem is internal to the gearbox, and having said all that;

My gut reaction is that there is a fundamental misalignment between the selector shaft (the shaft the handles are on) and the gear shaft (the shaft the change gears are on). When both handles are engaged, this creates opposition, where it does not with only one.

I can think of a few reasons for a shaft or gear sets to bind. One would be they are not running parallel. Two might be that the tolerances of the end bushings are actually TOO TIGHT, and do not allow the gears to seek their natural, comfortable angle to each other. A third might be that the tooth overlap of the gears is actually too high. These teeth are not designed to run against the valleys of their mates. It seems like you might be able to have one or some combination of all of these going on.

I reiterate that I don't know squat about this stuff. I only hope that my wandering may trigger a thought or observation that brings positive results.

Thank you guys. I spent some quality time with the lathe today and made some progress and some understanding.

Jim. I had the box back on before i saw your request so sorry no picture from the back side. I do have pictures in this thread of me rebuilding the box though that should the gear train.

Robert. With everything disengaged all spins freely but that is what lead me to figure out part of the problem.