Indicator questions for first time buyer.

Pinresto

Active User
Registered
Hi All,
I'm new to my hobby machinist adventures and need a little guidance. I have a X2 mill and will be buying the lathe to match very soon. I'm focusing on tooling up at the moment but my wish list is getting longer by the day. I want to buy some indicators next but with so many things on the wish list I need to watch what I spend. Decent, entry level quality will be fine for now. I'm not splitting any hairs yet. I love old tools so I always look at the older stuff when its smart. Indicators are a deep subject for a noob. So I have a couple questions. First is brand. I'm familiar with the big names and I've heard many of the smaller ones but I don't always know who is known for better quality. Below are the main brands I see when looking. Anyone care to put them in order of quality starting with the best?

The other question is a hypothetical. If you were buying a noob 3-4 indicators to get started with what would their characteristics be? Dial, test, travel, graduations, etc? I see so many variations I'm not sure what would suit me best. I want to buy 3-4 indicators to cover the lathe and mill. Ill be making small parts for my pinball machines and tooling projects to start with. I see them from .01 to .0005 and with very short to long travels. Different styles and sizes.
Thank you for helping. It means more to a noob than you think.

Another thought,
should I buy new igaging, enco, etc indicators or a used better brand like Starrett?

Enco
harbor freight
Fowler
Starrett
Igaging
Federal
Interapid
Mitutoyo
Westward
Westhoff
Brown & sharp
Standard
Mueller
Peacock

What the "best" brand is opinionated. It's mostly personal preference. One brand might be "better" than another for a particular measuring tool but it could be vise versa for a different tool. Most any quality name brand will be good.