HSS or Carbide inserts fot lathe turning????

pipehack

Active User
Registered
I picked up a tooling package from "Little Machine Shop" includes the 3/8" carbide tool inserts. TCMT 21.51 style inserts. I've watched videos, read several chapters on HSS tool grinding and I just can't seem to do it right. I've also broke several carbide inserts or chipped them I should say. What am I doing wrong? Am I trying to take too big of a bite? Embarrassed about the HSS tool grinding. Using a bench grinder and am dressing the wheel. I also have a belt/disc sander. Most if not all my cuts look like Ray Charles was using a beaver to turn down the steel. I've only really made 2 weld in bungs for mounting a gas tank on my motorcycle. I've had this a little over 6 weeks and obviously getting frustrated and somewhat discouraged. HELP! HELP!! HELP!!!

Hi, I'm a rookie too, but have been grinding some of my own HSS bits. To start what lathe are you using and what type of steel are you cutting? It could be that your bits are ok, but you have a lack of rigidity or are taking too much depth of cut. How is your work being held and are you using the tailstock center?

FWIW, I started out with a little 6" dunlap lathe (not too stiff) and bought a set of Taig preground 1/4" HSS bits. I had more issues due to improper work holding and too much cut than with the grind of the tool itself. Now I have sharpened the bits many times and started grinding some of my own modelled after the first set and everything seems ok. I can't help with the carbide as I don't use it.

First things first, DON'T GIVE UP!! We have all been there, been frustrated at our machines, the tools, and the parts that we are trying to make! You have taken the first step, reach out for help, now help us help you!